300 RUM Sendero mods

Shooter Fred

I was wondering if anyone can suggest a few ides or ways to lighten up my 300 RUM Sendero SFII. I have a Vortex Viper PST scope on it with seekins precision rings and 20 MOA base.

I have not made any modifications to this gun other than the scope, base and rings. My intentions for the gun is to Elk hunt in New Mexico which has pretty rugged terrain. I am a little worried about the overall weight of this rifle and lugging it up and down the mountains. I don't want to give up accuracy but was wondering if there is anything I or a gunsmith can do to make the gun noticeably lighter. If you think I am better off sucking it up and lugging around a heavy rifle for the added accuracy just let me know. I am pretty new to this so any and all suggestions are welcome.

Thanks in advance!

-Fred

Pack less other stuff and leave the rifle weight alone. That's where the rubber meets the road.

I jokingly tell the guys that I hunt with just take a dump in the morning and that should save a couple of pounds.Ha Ha.

If you try to save pack weight you would be amazed at how easy it is.

J E CUSTOM

Look into one of the Eberlestock or similiar packs. It makes a big difference putting one of these in a pack as opposed to slinging it over your shoulder.

Pack less other stuff and leave the rifle weight alone. That's where the rubber meets the road.

I jokingly tell the guys that I hunt with just take a dump in the morning and that should save a couple of pounds.Ha Ha.

If you try to save pack weight you would be amazed at how easy it is.

J E CUSTOM

Thanks for the note...I tend to agree with you, just didn't know if keeping the weight was integral to the accuracy.

Thanks again!

This is a tough dilema to have. I think it may just be better for me to keep the gun and get in better shape.

I am sure if I am in better shape the heavier gun wont be as much of a chore.