300 RUM problems

reed

Let me say first that I'm pretty new to reloading, I have been loading 243 and 280 loads with fine results for myself. Ok my friend brought me a box a 300RUM brass that's been loaded once and RCBS standard dies. He wanted me to load a different load for him. I loaded what he wanted, Rem brass, 87gr of IMR 7828, 180NAB, with Rem 9 1/2M primers seated a OAL 3.67. When we tried to load a shell the bolt was really hard to close, so we tried a couple more shells all same results. We then tried some factory shells and the bolt was tight but not as tight. My question did I resize them wrong, I followed RCBS directions. I'vve been using redding dies for myself with no problems and great accuracy. I don't have all the fancy gauges yet. Any information would help, my friends afraid to shoot them. Gun is mostly factory Rem 700 BDL.

Travis

Travis,

With an OAL of 3.6 I highly doubt you are "jamming" the bullet into the into the lands which will cause resistence.
So we then go to the case. You are either not bumping the shoulder enough, or not resizing the body enough. Bumping the shoulder just means pushing it back a bit. This is a hunting rifle and you don't have all the fancy gauges yet so do this...
Start with an unloaded, unprimed, case and resize it with the way your die is set. Chamber it, and as you said it will be tight.... adjust your die down, closer to the shell holder, and resize. Try chambering it in the rifle. If it's still tight, adjust the die down an bit more and try again. Repeat this sequence until the bolt handle drops without any resistence. Adjust the die down a quarter turn at a time.
You may find that your shell holder just touches the bottom of the die on the upstroke of the press. That's okay, it's called "camming over".
When you have done this and you chamber the round with no resistence on the bolt handle, lock the adjusting ring on the die. You're done.
Now finish loading and go to the range..