300 RUM Pressures

spradley19

I am somewhat new to reloading and have a question I hope someone could help me with. i have a remington 700 custom 300 RUM and seem to be having trouble with the brass I am reloading. I am using remington brass and loading 94 gr H-1000 pushing 180gr NAB. I am getting some extractor impressions or sheer marks on the end of more than half the cases and about a third seem to become sticky on the bolt. I have chronographed the load at 3250 and it seems to be a safe load. Never had any major indications of too much pressure(to me anyhow.) Can someone tell me what is going on with the case to make the bolt so sticky to open and close. I use a full length resizing die and everything is done to factory standards. Any advice would be appreciated.

Are you seating your bullets into or near the lands? Are the primers flattened? The velocity isn't lacking.

What you are describing are signs of too much pressure. That powder might be a bit fast burning for the particular combination of components you have. Retumbo was specifically designed with the 180g bullet in mind and the large overbore chambering like the 300RUM and 30-378. If I recall correctly the number printed on the jug of Retumbo is 100g for the 180g bullet at 3300fps. I believe the load I used for the RUM was 96.3g Retumbo with the 180 NAB at 3300fps. That was tops for me in the 26" Rem 700, perhaps because I was right on the lands with no bullet jump. Good luck.