300 RUM Bullet Crimping

cserwin

I am new to reloading, and may be biting off a big chunk starting out with 300 RUM loads. Anybody have good advice on bullet crimping. Every factory load I've shot has had crimping, and would assume with the recoil it would be needed. I'll be loading TTSX, and would like to try VLD's as well. This is a topic I see almost nothing at all about.

I'd appreciate some expert advice on this, and anything else that may need to be considered. I'm looking to work up accurate loads for this rifle before hunting season. I just had a custom builder build this gun on a factory action. Blueprinted action, Lilja barrel, and McMillan stock, Timney trigger and want to squeeze all the accuracy potential from it after the money that I've spent with all the custom work.

I'd appreciate some advice

I would recommend against crimping your reloads in your 300 RUM. There is really no need to. I have never crimped any of my loads and don't even crimp my rounds in my AR type rifles. The recoil is not going to be bad enough to knock the bullet into the case much if at all even with a RUM. In my opinion, You will get better results w/o crimping.

If you have not ever reloaded, I would suggest buying the Barnes reloading manual that they have available. You should read all the information that it gives you on reloading in order to better educate yourself on the art of reloading. You can also find a lot of information on this website by doing a search.

With the barnes bullet, I have found that it likes a good jump to the lands. You can start with the recommended seating depth that the barnes manual gives you and then play with the seating depth after you find an accurate load (you will understand more about what I am talking about when you read the reloading manual).