.300 Jarrett info

midmoboy

Does anyone have any info on the .300 Jarrett? Balistics, fathering case, accuracy, ect.? Am considering rebarreling a magnum action and I'm going over my choices.

The 300 Jarrett is made from a blown out 8mm Ren mag case. It should be similar in capacity to a 300 Wby mag.

Can't imagine what advantage the Jarrett cartridge has. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif

VH

I shoot one. They can shoot great. Really poor brass selection. Soft remmington brass not up to multiple reloads. If you are looking for a time killing hobby, this could be fun with all the case forming and fireforming involved. But I would go with a 300 Weatherby or 300 ultra mag if I would do it again.

just my 2

Neal

I have been shooting one for about 8-9 years, I would have to look at my load data to be sure. I would have to agree with parts of the post above. Yes the brass soft,is a pain sometimes to make and does not last long. I use mine exclusivly for hunting so I don't fire a lot of shots a year. The brass is no harder to make than an Ackley round after you neck the case down. I shoot 180 Bal Tips at 3300 FPS and 165's at 3450 FPS. The 180 load is max in my rifle and near max in a few friends rifles. The 165 load is moderate. My rifle Rem 700 W/ Hart #5 at 25.5". I have 6 hunting buddies that now shoot the 300 Jarrett and we all swear by it. We have a fireforming barrel that we all have used including our gunsmith. The others are easier but I have yet to see 300 Weatherby shoot anywhere as accuratly. I have yet to try one of the RUM's.

Good Luck
Mark

Varmint Hunter;
In a word - accuracy!
I have a ten shot group from my 300 Jarrett at 100 yards that was shot off the bench with Berger bullets that hides under a quarter. This rifle is fun, fun, fun to shoot.

Warning! This thread is more than 20 years ago old.