300 gr 45-70 bullets shoot 14" higher than 405 gr 45-70. Is this normal?

Les in Wyoming

I am shooting 50 gr 4198 under 300 gr poly-coated, pan-lubed bullets. For my 405 grain, I am shooting 40 gr 4198. The difference in where they hit is incredible. Does 100 grains of lead make that much difference? If that is the case, then it would seem that 300 grain bullets would be a lot flatter shooting. Maybe I am missing something. Does the lighter bullet normally hit that much higher?

I like the 405 grain because that is what the 45-70 was designed to shoot. I can sometimes get good accuracy with it. But if I want to shoot both in any given situation, would I be forced to back the charge down on the 300 gr bullet to bring it down? That would make it a significantly lighter load for hunting. Maybe I could increase the 405 grain charge, but the 40 grains of 4198 seem to be the most accurate. Any input or notes you can share, I would be much obliged. I am fairly new to the 45-70 and am learning as I go. Thanks

I would think if the barrel isn't a super heavy octagonal, that shift may be reasonable.

The higher or lower for different weights doesn't matter, as that's only determined by the point in oscillation the barrel is at when the bullet leaves it. If you changed the charges, they might hit closer together due to change in oscillation timing.

My guess here would be the poly or do you mean moly coating on the 300gr bullet. Those coatings can change things a lot. All bullets wether different weight or brand or bullet shape will shoot to a different point of aim.