30 stw

I went thru the same dilema recently. I have new reamer and dies for the 300 JARRETT if you are interested in buying them.

When the 8mm rem mag came out it was necked to everything by about everybody. I focused on the 25, 264 and 7mm and did quite a few of each. Twenty something years later it gets a new name the STW. When you get to the 30, 338 and 375 you have a 300 wby, 340 wby and 375 wby or 375 AI basically so I saw no improvement there. In 7mm it was a 7mm-300 wby which I had been doing for a few years but still played with this one. Also same as the 264-300 wby in 6.5 caliber. Basically I was toying with it to get wby velocities with cheap 8mm rem mag brass. But in the end all you got is a weatherby off the 300 mag case. Why not just get a 300 wby mk 5 or accumark unless you just want something everyone else shelved 25 years ago.

What are some of y'alls ideas about this gun? Pros/Cons

Just wondering, thinking of building one soon.

There is nothing wrong with it but the 300 Weatherby is the ballistic equal to it,

And as LTLR said it is simply a 8mm rem mag necked down to 30 cal. Before it got the name
STW it was known as the 30 super in my neck of the woods.

The 7mm STW in my opinion is the best use for the 8mm cases, but they are getting harder
to find.

The 300 RUM will out perform it and brass and ammo will be easier to get (Even now).
And almost every smith has a 300 RUM reamer and dies are available.

J E CUSTOM

Thanks guys for all the replies so far.

My first reason for not building a Weatherby is that I an not a huge Weatherby fan at all (just a personal thing I guess), i'm just not that fond of them.

Second, I am not a fan of any sort of Magnum 7mm, I love a 30 cal though (another one of those personal things)

Third is I have a 700 long magnum action, therefore I am not going to by a Weatherby mk 5 or accumark.