30 cal Sierra 190 to 220 MK

rufous

I would like to introduce myself and pose a question about bullet selection. My name is Brian Carlson and I live in Walla Walla, WA. I am 37 and am a winemaker. I studied winemaking in college at the Univ. of Cal at Davis. I grew up in Eugene, OR and started hunting ground squirrels at age 5 or 6. Through junior high and high school my oldest brother and my dad and I often went jackrabbit and rockchuck hunting in the eastern Oregon desert and around Bend. I went deer hunting for the first time in 1988 and have been hooked on big game hunting since. I have been fortunate to have gotten my deer most every year I have hunted for them. I have killed 9 deer thus far and 5 elk and 2 black bear. I have not gotten any big racked deer or elk and am not really a "trophy" hunter. I love to hunt and I love the meat. I am more of a trophy hunter for bear than for deer or elk. Do not misunderstand, I would dearly love to take a monster deer or elk but of much more importance and enjoyment for me is just being out hunting and bringing home meat. Not that the hunt is a bust if I come home without meat. In Washington State the bears are generally not too big. Average boar would probably be about 200 # live weight. My first bear was in 1997 and I do not know what it weighed but the four legs without the hide or paws weighed 104#. It was a good sized bear, probably a bit over 300#. The one I shot this spring was huge by Washington State standards. It had a girth of about 50" which according to a couple charts I have would put its live weight at about 375#. Its 4 legs weighed 120# and its hide was 88" from front claw tip to front claw tip and 77" from nose to tail.