284 rebarrel

Richwv

I have an old 300 win mag I want to rebarrel. I am thinking about a 284 Winchester (I like regular cartridges not that popular anymore)and wanted some input on what kind of performance I might beable to get. I am new to this but thought with longer actioni would be able to leave bullets out and not cut into case capacity evenwith longer high BC bullets. Any thoughts?

I have an old 300 win mag I want to rebarrel. I am thinking about a 284 Winchester (I like regular cartridges not that popular anymore)and wanted some input on what kind of performance I might beable to get. I am new to this but thought with longer actioni would be able to leave bullets out and not cut into case capacity evenwith longer high BC bullets. Any thoughts?
My first thought would be to go to either the .264 WM or .260 Rem, or even 6.5x55 due to superior down range ballistics of the 6.5 vs 7mm... .

If I were going to stick with a 7mm, I'd either go to the 7mm STW(which I absolutely love) or 7mm R mag.

That's cool, but you will have to get a new bolt as the 284 Win uses a .470" bolt face compated to the standard belted magnum case head of .540". Maybe you can find someone that will trade you a standard action for a belted mag action. Other than that, you are on the right track. I am also tossing the idea around on what my next build will be. Leaning highly towards a medium length cartridge on a long action to seat long bullets far out, maximizing the powder capacity.

I would like to stay with the 7. Will the STW fit a savage 111 300 win mag action. I would really like to go with the 284 anyway just not sure what I could expect extra with a longer action if anything over commercial ballistics?

Actually, the heavy 7mm bullets (180+ gr) will give you better downrange numbers than the 6.5mm. The benefit of the 6.5mm is the bullet is lighter (140 gr) so you get less recoil.