280 Rem or 300 Win mag.

rtv900

I am going to have a rifle built for me. I am having a hard time deciding on having it built in 280 rem or 300 win mag. I have shot and owned several 300s but about a year ago I started shooting a 280. I have been using a 140g bullet and I have had great results with accuracy. I am going to use this new rifle for general hunting. I will use it in the midwest for Whitetail and out west for Mule Deer and Elk. I am not looking to use it for Moose or Bear. I already have a rifle that I am pleased with for larger game. I really would like to keep the weight down and I can save a little weight with the 280. Not much but a little.

On top of all of this I have really caught the long range bug. I think I can do a better job overall with the 300 win mag but I really find the 280 to be interesting.

Please let me know what you think. Thanks in advance for your help.

I'd go with a 280 Ackley , burn less powder , shoot flatter very good bullet selection , just about everything you need and if you have a gun for heavier game the 280 is a perfect middle man.

James,

Thanks for the reply. Is the 280 or 280 Ackley going to be a good long range cal.? I think it will be great for deer and since I dont know enough about it I ask, do you think it is possible to use it as a long range elk gun? For now and probably for quite awhile I have access to a 600 yard range to practice on so that is what I am considering long range.

I'm new here, but I've read that for ethical body (vital) shots on elk one should have arround 1200ft/lbs of energy. To get this out of your 280 or 280 AI you would have to select a fairly heavy High BC bullet like Hornady's 154gr .525 BC. I'm sure you'll find pleanty of bullets that could fit the bill. If you're planning on head and neck shots you can obviously do with much less energy. I'm sure some of the senior members could give a more precise answer.