280 rem in 280AI

Discussion in 'Long Range Hunting & Shooting' started by The Oregonian, Apr 3, 2013.

  1. The Oregonian

    The Oregonian Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    450
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    I know you can shoot standard 280 rem's out of a 280AI, but curious about the downsides, if any. I am debating a 280 vs AI and want to understand what compromises I will have (if any) shooting a 280 rem out of an AI from time to time.

    Is accuracy affected? I have read in some places that it is, but I trust the folks here more than any other site, and know that many folks have 280AI's here.

    I have heard that velocity is impacted, but I want to make sure that the frame of reference is fully understood. Is it the obvious lower velocity of rem vs AI? Or is the comparison of a rem out of AI vs a rem out of a rem? I.e. will a 280 rem out of a 280AI have a lower velocity than a 280 rem load fired out of a 280 rem chamber, all else being equal?

    Thx in advance.
     
  2. cbryant

    cbryant Member

    Messages:
    21
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    iam not 100 % sure on this but it would be my understanding you get lower velocity because the case size on the AI is bigger than a 280 rem
     

  3. angus-5024

    angus-5024 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,132
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Velocity will be slower because you'll be burning less powder.
    You may or may not have accuracy loss. It depends on the harmonics of your barrel. I have seen standard rounds shoot very well out of AI barrels, and some not so much. What you will have is a POI change, sometimes dramatic.

    I think that the .280 AI is a great chambering. Nosler has factory loadings for it (i think) and if not you can run the standard .280 stuff through it in a pinch. It is definatley in the running for the most efficient way to get a 180 grain .284 bullet around that 3000 fps mark and it feeds like butter.
     
  4. jhibbard24

    jhibbard24 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    158
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    You would basically be fire forming the .280's into a AI. But with my experience and understandings of fire forming is not to use full weight charges. The .280 AI is a bad ass round.

    you better do some more research about shooting the standard rounds in the AI chamber
     
  5. Jfive

    Jfive Member

    Messages:
    23
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Guys shoot factory ammo to fire form brass for AI's. I would bet that handloads where the bullet is seated so its into the lands will be accurate, but slower, as some of the energy is going into forming the brass, and not pushing the bullet out the barrel. Looking at getting a 280 and then reaming it to a AI. From what I've read the Nosler is differant than the original AI. Still trying to decide which to do.
     
  6. bamadawg2009

    bamadawg2009 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    350
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    The 280AI is probably my favorite rifle in my herd. Mine shoots the exact same between REM and Ackley except for velocity, it shoots in the low .3s with both loads. Im shooting full charge REM loads to fireform and have not had any problems. Im pushing 140 gr VLDs around 3150 with RL22 for my best acurracy, although Im about to start trying some 168s.
     
  7. MudRunner2005

    MudRunner2005 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    10,086
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    My next build is going to be a custom .280 AI off a trued & blueprinted 700 action.
     
  8. yobuck

    yobuck Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    853
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    with performance like that why own a 7 mag?
    what barrel legnth would it require to get that type performance?
     
  9. MudRunner2005

    MudRunner2005 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    10,086
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    For my build I'm planning on a 26" Rock Creek 5R barrel w/ 1:9 twist. But I plan on shooting 168 Berger VLD's. It should be a whitetail hammer. :cool:
     
  10. angus-5024

    angus-5024 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,132
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008

    With the 280 ai do you gain much with the 28"? I would think that a 24" would be around right and a 26" would be using every last grain.
    I've thought hard about running a AI reamer through my .280, but may go to a 7WSM...
     
  11. MSLRHunter

    MSLRHunter Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    388
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    I have a custom 280ai with a 24" Brux and can't come close to 3000fps with 180's. To get there in a 280ai with safe pressures will require a long barrel, say around 28". The 280ai really shines with the 160-168 class bullet at around 2900-2950fps. Very accurate and a hammer on whitetails.
     
  12. bamadawg2009

    bamadawg2009 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    350
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Im running a 25.5" shilen match grade 5.5 contour, this thing shoots lights out if I do my part my best group to date is a 200yd 3shot group that is one big hole. I didnt measure it but its probably under .4"

    Im running just 61.3 grains of RL-22 with my ackley load and like I said Im getting around 3150 with 140 vlds.

    I dont think thers is anyway possible to get 3000 FPS from 180s out of a 280AI even with a 28" tube, you might be able to but Im not trying it in my gun.
     
  13. MudRunner2005

    MudRunner2005 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    10,086
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    I couldn't see there being a huge gain with a 28" over a 26" barrel...But then again, I don't have one, so I can't tell you how it would or wouldn't react to the extra 2".

    You could do a 28" .280 AI first, then 7WSM if you don't like the AI, you can cut 2" off the back-side of the barrel and re-chamber for 7 WSM.

    Or leave the barrel 28" and rechamber to 7 RemMag or even 7STW. The options are huge if you don't like the .280 AI.