280 AI primer ?: Magnum or not???

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by bailey1474, May 21, 2007.

  1. bailey1474

    bailey1474 <strong>SPONSOR</strong>

    Messages:
    1,922
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Just wanted to see what some of you guys were using. Thought about using the mag primer but I loaded some to test w/the CCI BR-2 primers.
     
  2. James Jones

    James Jones Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,854
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    I've had good luck with the BR-2's for years but found them to be a little harder than the Federal 210M that i use now.

    I have seen in a bit smaller rounds like the 308 where the magnum primer killed the accuracy with to much power and in some cases I've heard that it will cause pressure issues from jumping the bullet out to the lands before the powder goes off.
     

  3. Slopeshunter

    Slopeshunter Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    860
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Hi Bill,

    I'm just getting starting reloading for my 280AI. I'm using Federal GM215M primers based on advice I got from JD338. He told me that when he changed to the match mag primers his groups tightened up.

    Also if you've seen the groups he's gotten with his 280AI, you'd give these primers a try also /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    Good luck!
     
  4. Desert Fox

    Desert Fox Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    439
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Mine is not Ackleyrised but I have good result with Winchester large primer and the Federal 210 Match. As a matter of fact, I can use either one with no discernible difference in performance.
     
  5. Fiftydriver

    Fiftydriver <strong>Official LRH Sponsor</strong>

    Messages:
    6,848
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    No need for a magnum primer at all. Even in cold weather with Ball powders I have never had one of my customers complain about inconsistant ignition with a standard cap.

    CCI-BR2s are good primers.

    Let us know how that thing shoots,

    By the way, any pics of a certain axis buck yet????

    Kirby Allen(50)
     
  6. JD338

    JD338 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    718
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    When I first started my 280AI load development, I was using the Federal GM210M primers. Accuracy was sub MOA. My gunsmith told me to switch to the Federal GM215M primers and the groups went well under .5 MOA. I don't feel that a magnum primer is required to ignite the powder charge, but the level of accuracy I am getting is extreamly good and justifies the use of the magnum primer.
    Bill, I would recomend you at least try some Federal GM215M primers with RL22.

    JD338
     
  7. oso

    oso Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    307
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    This is fairly interesting as I am having a 280AI barrel being built as we speak. It is also interesting that someone could get better groups by just using a mag primer? I guess if that is the case I too would use the mag primers!

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  8. bailey1474

    bailey1474 <strong>SPONSOR</strong>

    Messages:
    1,922
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    [ QUOTE ]
    Let us know how that thing shoots,

    By the way, any pics of a certain axis buck yet????


    [/ QUOTE ]

    I know which one your really concerned about /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif.

    Spent about 30 min on the phone w/Shawn trying to talk him through emailing the pics and I think we failed /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif. He's still on dial up and pretty much computer illiterate so I may have to have him mail me a CD so I can email them. Either way, we'll have you some pics by this weekend /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif.
     
  9. Fiftydriver

    Fiftydriver <strong>Official LRH Sponsor</strong>

    Messages:
    6,848
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Then we can plan the event!!! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    Keep me posted on the 280 AI. It showed great potential on the range test so interested to hear how she does for you.

    As with all rifles, only trying a combination of componants will tell you if they are worth using. As mentioned, sometimes a hotter primer can get you better results with accuracy, other times it will degrade accuracy. Just have to try and see.

    In most cases, a magnum primer is not needed or desired in a case of this capacity and the sharp shoulder angle also asks for a standard primer in most instances.

    Kirby Allen(50)
     
  10. bailey1474

    bailey1474 <strong>SPONSOR</strong>

    Messages:
    1,922
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Kirby,

    You got mail!!!!
     
  11. Fiftydriver

    Fiftydriver <strong>Official LRH Sponsor</strong>

    Messages:
    6,848
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif!!!!!!!!
     
  12. J E Custom

    J E Custom Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,264
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Bill

    I would recomend letting the load determine which primer
    is best.

    The only time I have needed the magnum primer was when
    using 90 plus grains of very slow powder(50BMG,H870,ETC)

    I always start with standard primers and work up(the cups
    are thiner and pressure is easy to read)

    If you reach max pressure with low standard deviation you
    have enough primer.

    If the standard deviation is poor (20 fps Plus)then a
    magnum primer may be nessary. but load down if you switch
    from stanard to magnum primer.

    Magnum primers will increase velocity but may lead to poor
    standard deviation,s and this could be a problem at long
    range.

    On long range rifle,s I try to keep a standard deviation
    of less than 10fps.

    I would think the 280AI should not need a mag primer but
    recomend you chronograph each load to make sure.

    Just an opinion /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
    J E CUSTOM