270 win for elk?

Tex3030

A family member is going on an elk hunt next year. He has plans on taking his 270 win. I do not think he will attempt a shot over 300 yards. I suggested using 150gr partitions, but this was just a guess.

All that I have heard about elk is that they are exceedingly tough (have heard the same things about pigs we shoot with .22s (although have seen one shake off 4 rounds of .41, only to be put out by a .22) Based on the pictures on federal ammo they do not suggest the 270 with 150 partitions for elk, but I have no idea how they came up with their recommendations.

If the 270 is not enough for elk I can loan him either a 30-06 or 300 RUM, but neither will be used past 300 yards.

270 is what I have been using on Elk for the last 10-12 years. It works just fine with 140 Accubonds and I've taken some down past 400 yards. I used to use 130 gr Partitions and they were OK too, just seemed like shot placement was less forgiving.

270 win will work very well on elk, I have shot several bulls with mine. I use run of the mill Hornady 150 gr SP bullets. Keep in mind that these bullts are not bone crunchers but a well placed bullet just behind the shoulder will have a bull down in no time (none of mine have gone more than 100 yds). If you want something that will stay together a little better try Barnes TSX 150 gr. I shot a bull last year and managed to recover one of the bullets and was pleased to see that it performed eactly as advertised... expanded to twice the original diameter, approx 100% weight retention. I guess that my choices for bullets on elk with the 270 would be Hornady Interbonds, Barnes TSX, Nosler Accubond, TBBC or something to that effect, and not neccesarily in that order.

This year was my first year with my 300 RUM and I was very pleased with its performance as well with a 230 yd bang flop with a 210 gr Berger.

Whichever he is most comfortable with 270 or 300 RUM either will work well. Hope this helps

Tex 3030