.260 Rem or 6.5X47 Lapua?

Natty Bumpo

Was toying with the notion of having a rifle built. Had originally been figuring on .260 Remington but the 'smith I spoke with suggested I consider the 6.5X47 Lapua, describing it as being like a .260 Rem A.I. He also pointed out the quality of Lapua brass compared to Remington, which could make a difference at extended range.

The only drawback I can see is the cost of the Lapua brass. Of course, you get what you pay for. Any opinions?

I have no experience with either cartidge, but just looking at the brass scematics I'd have to say that the smith wasn't right. the 260 has a 20 degree shoulder and a main capacity length to the datumn line of 42.35mm, whereas the 6.5 x 47 has a main capacity length of 37.4 to datumn line. The body taper is nearly identical (width of both cartridges is within .06 mm). Here is a link to the 6.5 x 47 6.5x47 Lapua Benchrest--New Cartridge Info
I'm sure it is an absolutely excelent cartridge, but you should know what you are getting. It seems the 260 will have a little more power.

Natty,

I'd have to agree with britz, I shoot a 6.5 WSSM and it seems to be right in the 260 AI ballpark. While I have no actual experience with one I don't think you'll get a 6.5x47 to run that hot without extremely short case or rifle life.:eek:

Chris

I had my 260 built before the 6.5x47 was a big hit , and I seriously doubt that I would change anything if I built another gun. I have a "260 Match" chamber which is a little tighter than spec but not to tight to fit factory ammo , i use Lapua 308 brass and neck it down this gives me a tight neck situation so I turn them a little and all is well , so iget a tight neck benifit yet i can still shoot factory ammo !!!

I chose the regular 260 over the Ackley improved version simply de to the less hassel of fire forming barass.