260 Rem - Lapua Brass

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by farpiece, May 13, 2013.

1. farpiece

farpiece Active Member

I'm new to reloading, so please excuse the obvious. I'm looking at buying 200-300 cases of Lapua brass for my 260 Remy. I've got a Forester co-ax press with a full sizing die. When available, I can get 260 cases for about a buck apiece. However the 308 BR or Palma brass (small primer) is about .86 cents a case. The 308 is believed by some to be a better case, and cheaper. Thoughts? Can you think of any problems?

2. joejo

joejo Well-Known Member

i thought about using the 308 palma brass for my 260, but was told i would end up with shorter necks? everyone i talked with said to use 243 brass and neck up.
    i just use 260 lapua brass to save the headache.

3. Sully2

Sully2 Well-Known Member

I went the Lapua route and glad I did. I get MANY many reloads from them

4. farpiece

farpiece Active Member

Thanks Joejo, thinking the same way. I'm thinking I'll just resize the neck. Any tips on your loads? How many reloads are you getting to a case?

5. J E Custom

J E Custom Well-Known Member

I use the 308 Lapua brass for my 7/08 and it is the best brass I have found. I also use a lot of
    Remington brass with good success and normally only cull 5 or 6 Per 100 rounds after sizing,
    trimming. And turning.

I wished Lapua made 7/08 (Proper head stamp) but they don't.

Someone said they made 260 brass and that would be the best of all worlds.

I always prefer necking down because I can turn the necks if they are to thick.

Just my opinion

J E CUSTOM

6. Greyfox

Greyfox Well-Known Member

Lapua does make 260 brass.

7. Beluebow

Beluebow Well-Known Member

Running a stout load of H4350 and 142SMK I have about 8-10 firings on my Lapua 260 brass.Primer pockets are starting to get sloppy loose but not falling out.Other than that it has a held up very well.

8. Greyfox

Greyfox Well-Known Member