257 Roy vs 300 WSM @ 800yds

sodakhunter

I have been shooting a 257 WM for 6 years now, and absolutely love it. I have made kills on whitetails(which is all I hunt) around the 600 yd. mark. I would like to stretch this out to an 800yd max. I stumbled across a great deal on a Sako 300 WSM and nearly pulled the trigger on the deal, but I resisted the temptation. However, finding this deal prompted me to run some numbers. Take a look and tell me what you guys think.

Here is how the numbers ran in my calculator

@800yds 300 WSM (180gr) 257 WM(115 gr.)
Velocity 1715 1890
Energy 1176 912
Wind Drift (10mph) 46.1" 43"

Here is where it gets tricky for me, and would like some input from you guys. I primarily shoot nosler bullets(ballistic tips). The folks at nosler reccomend a minimum of 1800 f.p.s. to get the optimum performance. This would give the edge to the .257. I realize that the energy of the 300 supasses that of the 257, but is the lack of velocity going to cause bullet failure. I've also heard time and time again that the quarter bores won't buck the wind like the .30's will. Either that is false, or numbers lie, and I better find another way to account for wind other than dialing it in on my turrets.

I guess the bottom line is, am I going to gain enough benefit with the 300 WSM to justify spending $1500.00 on a new rifle/scope. Don't get me wrong, I love buying guns as much as the next guy, but I am married, hence the need for justification. Thanks for the time and I look forward to ALL of your responses

My Dad has hunted with the .257 Roy my entire 36 years. I honestly see no reason to move from the Roy to the WSM. Not Saying the WSM isnt a fantastic round because it is. I just dont see where the money spent is needed when you already have the .257.

Take your family on a vacation instead. You will be much happier doing that than when you realize you wasted your money on the WSM.