243 Ackley Loads

fire at will

Hi Guys

I'm new to reloading so please bear with me.

I have a 243 ackley .

Has anyone got a load worked for Nosler 80 grain ballistic tips or 85 grain sierra game kings

I have some n160 powder in stock but i'll gladly buy some other for the right load. I appear to be getting 3/4 inch groups with 49.5 grains of n160 with 80 grain Nosler Ballistic Tips. I would like to improve this if possible. I have been using fireformed lapua brass with cci primers.

Any help would be greatly appreciated !

Thanks

Robert

Hey Robert,

No problem at all here. There's some data out there for the 243 AI, but bear in mind that upper level loads for the parent cartridge are usually the best starting point for any of the AI family of cartridges. Depending on the particular cartridge we're talking about (some are more "Improved" than others), there is usally a 3-5% increase in case capacity over the parent case, sometimes more, sometimes a bit less.

Your load of 49.5 grains with the N160 is pretty close to what I'd suggest here, based on the V-V 7th edition Reloading guide, and the 243 Win cartridge. They top out at 48.1 for an 87 grain bullet, but that's a standard cartidge, not the AI version. You should be fine there, and may een have some room to bump up a bit, if there's no pressure indicators so far. Just work slowly, and let the gun tell you what it'll handle.

Good shooting & safe handloading,

Kevin Thomas