225 ELDM TESTED 30/375 S.I.

elkaholic

I have been pretty impressed with the new line of ELD bullets by Hornady, and the Match bullets particularly. I think they have a huge potential for long range hunting and so I loaded some up in my 30/375 S.I. A lot of you know that I have been making my own bullets for several years BECAUSE there were not any really good killing bullets for long and extreme range. I am in the process of switching to the ELDM because I think they are building basically what I wanted, and was building myself. A high b.c., super accurate bullet that would expand reliably at long range. BINGO! I think Hornady may have accomplished that and I can BUY theirs cheaper than I can MAKE mine. Anyway, here are the results of some initial testing with the 225 ELDM. I have already tested the 147's in my 6.5 SST with very good results.
I loaded up rounds to chrono from 86 to 89 grains of RL33 at a coal of 3.710" which is about .010" off the lands. I also loaded 85.5, 86.5, and 87.5 to shoot for group at 100 yards and then do a mini ladder at 652 yards. Below are the results so far. I did not quite reach max with the 89 gr. load at 3095'. With a b.c. of .391, that is a HAMMER at long range with a bullet that will expand down to around 1300 fps. It looks like I may end up with a good load in the 3050' or so range that will be easy on my brass. The 87.5 grain load does not show on the target because they were the first 2 fired and I misread the wind by 2 minutes. They measured 1.375" apart with very little vertical and would have been right in the group with the 2 lower charges for less than 4" total spread among the 3 loads at 652 yards. It took 10 moa. I am pretty sure I pulled one shot with the 87.5 load at 100 yards.

Attachments

• 30:375 chrono RL33:225 eldm.jpg
    30:375 chrono RL33:225 eldm.jpg
    500.6 KB · Views: 453
  • 30:375 SI 225 eldm:85.5 RL33.jpg
    30:375 SI 225 eldm:85.5 RL33.jpg
    335.2 KB · Views: 337