1st post and thinking new LR hunting rig.

fmajor

Hi all,

This is my 1st post here (1st post on any hunting/firearms site honestly).

Out of the gate, i'd like to mention that i'm not a complete NEWB who's seen too much Hollywood or read too many hunting magazines. I started shooting when i was 6, 'bout 4 decades ago, and competetively for a number of years when i served under Pres. Ronald Reagan and lived in Fayetteville, NC - go Red Falcons!!!! I know long-distance marksmanship is a life-style commitment and i shot simply for the joy of it (as well as prep for hunting season - whitetails were nice, interactive targets as well as good food!).

Anyway, i've had about a 12-year break from hunting and shooting and am thinking about putting together another long-range rig. I had a Rem 700 chambered in .300 Win Mag, 24" semi-custom full-bull bbl, Brown Precision stock, Mark IV Ultra 10x optic, Shilen 2-ounce trigger plus the "stock" trigger i honed and adjusted to 1.5lbs (yup, did a bit of 'smithing in there). It was a serious shooter.

With Winchester brass, 71.2 grns of Reloader 22 (i think - it's been a long time), 190gr Sierra MK's, and CCI Mag primers it would hold 5 shots in a nice little cluster avg. .225" at 100yds. Fortunately/unfortunately, i had a significant change in the trajectory of my life (tactical, professional, civilian 'marksmanship' came off the vocational table) and sold it before i got to see what it'd do at 1k and out.

So here i am today considering putting together another LR rig - strictly for hunting. I plan on using it for North American game up to elk. For larger species (or larger bears), i'll consider something with greater mass (.375 and up).