150 vs 168 Barnes TTSX 300 Weatherby

Thanks for all the replies,

The Mark V is a California made one, I'd guess it was made in the early 2000's.

My Vanguard is a really great shooter, but I wish it had the 26" pipe. I'm about to get it threaded and use my newly acquired suppressor on the upcoming antelope hunt.

I just ordered 100 Barnes 168's and will start at their minimum load and work up. Fingers crossed that they shoot good because I only have 200 primers. It's really a shame that this ammo crisis had to happen. Being a college student I really didn't have the choice to stock up, so now I'm trying to make do with what I can. Reloading seems like a ton of fun. So far I have only loaded handguns such as 9mm, 10mm and 357 mag. I'm really looking forward to getting these 300's going.

Take your pick of 150 or 168 ive shot both in 300bee, 300 win, and 300 short mag ive found both to be very accurate and believe with proper shot placement no animal will know the difference.

I shot Barnes TTSX for years in 300 WM and 300 WBY. Absolutely use the 168 gr as they are usually unusually accurate. I have been told the ogive configuration is based on over 10 yrs experimentation by the army with 30 caliber bullets. Many people find the 168 TTSX really accurate ... I did .... would be my first choice. Good luck

Both my 300 WBY's prefer the 168 gr. TTSX's accuracy wise. It, and the 180 Nosler Partition are my prefered elk/mule deer bullets. One my 300's ( A Vanguard ) has a 24" tube, and produces velocities over 3300 FPS with excellent accuracy using REL-23. The velocity difference with the 26" barrel is negligible. ( less than 60 FPS )

I shoot 165-168 Barnes out of a 300 RUM...and that's for elk! I trust them to about 900 yards. I'd go with the 150's if deer is what's on the menu. Unless Barnes they changed them, the 150's have different profile than the rest of their .308's.