120gr BT's for Deer?

coffdvm

I just got my new .280 Ackley in from the gunsmith. My son (a better "gun man" than me) came over and we worked up three loads for it, got is grouping and sighted in.

When we shot the 120 gr Ballistic Tips @ 3290, the group was impressive (.6) and my son said "There's your load!" I am just a little concerned about this bullet on whitetails. I have been a 140gr Accubond man for a while but he is strong on this bullet for deer. I hear everything but, frankly, have never killed an animal with this weight bullet. My son HAS but he's got super accurate rifles; has sniper training and shoots them in the neck. Might be questionable for me.

So, wanted to check with the experts....comments??

I'm no expert by any stretch of the imagination but a 120 grain Nosler BT (a proven bullet) @ over 3000 fps is plenty of bullet for whitetails IMO.

edit: I also believe a heart/lung shot fine. Neck shot is just a matter of preference, not necessity, again IMO.

I'm like you I'd "prefer" the 140. I'd have more confidence with bigger bodied deer at less than ideal angles.
Your confidence in your son comes through in your post. In the context of promoting father/son relationship, and demonstrating respect for his opinion, why not try it his way. Win lose or draw with the bullet you'll both learn something.

Good point about the father/son bit. Although I think I taught him everything he knows about guns.hunting, it has become painfully obvious that he's teaching me a few things.

Now, if I could just get some of my guns BACK from him that he "borrowed" five years ago!

In south Alabama, deer size is moderate and I have become more and more of a hunter for the table, e.g. does. So, will stay with the smaller bullets this fall and see what happens. (I have come a long way from that .35 Whelen I was shooting a few years ago.)