Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Magazine Articles > Gun Reviews - Discussion

Practical, Tactical Or ? By Ward W. Brien

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2012, 10:39 PM

Re: Practical, Tactical Or ? By Ward W. Brien

Nice artical as you say they are nice ..I have a Rem 7mm Mag 700 BDL for over 32 years with a Scopechief7 Bushnell BDC for over 40 years and have done some long range shots just fine with mine .. but if i was a younger hunter i would get a 338 with a good scope ,any of three... Imho

i would carry about 12 lbs max hunting.. but i live in Grizz/ Sheep and Goat country

David
Old 12-07-2012, 04:44 PM

First let me say I enjoyed your article!

Greetings gentlemen, I’m an older Vietnam era vet that qualified “expert” while in the Army with several weapons. While I have always been somewhat of an Elmer Keith big bore heavy caliber throwback, I find myself as I age not so gracefully that my body simply will not accommodate the abuse I used to put it through. I hunted the blowdown timber of western Wyoming with a custom .375 H&H and the plains of Wyoming with a custom .30-06. Both were heavier than the average rifle 9 to 11 pounds. I like the heavier barrels not only for their accuracy but because they help steady for a shot after a hard run to the top of a ridge. Try that with one of those ultra-light easy carry rifles and one will soon discover the downside! I’m a big guy 6’ 5” and yes I played football as well as basketball along with most other school sports. I stayed active all through my life until my exposure to toxic chemicals and age did their damage to me.