Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Sheep Hunting

Sheep Hunting Techniques For Sheep Hunting

Drawing a sheep tag

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2014, 01:09 AM

Drawing a sheep tag

I'm new to the world of sheep hunting and I know one of the hardest parts to sheep hunting is getting the tag. I'm 25 years old now and want to draw a tag before I'm 100. Any advice on drawing? Also can a US citizen apply in Alberta or is it strictly for people that live in canada?

Thanks for the help!
Old 05-11-2014, 04:34 PM
Bronze Member

Re: Drawing a sheep tag

Apply apply and apply some more. Put in for every state available. In Canada you have to buy a guided hunt period. You can also purchase a prime minister tag however for being a young 25 I'm sure you probably don't have a minimum of 250k- 500k laying around lol

Sheep hunting is a very fun addiction, the smartest thing you can do is apply. Especially at your age.

I've taken 2 Desert rams, a Dall, and Rocky. I've also taken a Gobi Argali, Transcapian Urial, and two Marco Polos. Next on the list is a Stone and High Altia Argali...need to save some more cash.

I like the adventure in sheep hunting.

Good luck!!!
Old 05-11-2014, 04:51 PM
Silver Member

Only people not good at math apply without knowing the individual states draw systems and if a tag is even possible for a guy just starting out.

Last edited by WapitiBob; 05-11-2014 at 06:29 PM.
Old 05-14-2014, 09:50 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by WapitiBob View Post
Only people not good at math apply without knowing the individual states draw systems and if a tag is even possible for a guy just starting out.
Ok, care to elaborate?
Old 05-15-2014, 04:18 AM
Silver Member

Just starting out you will likely never be in a top point pool so your chances at drawing will be limited to the random draws. Some states are more generous than others.