Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Elk Hunting

Elk Hunting Techniques For Elk Hunting

second choice bullet? 260

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2011, 10:01 PM
Bronze Member

Re: second choice bullet? 260

seated bullets from 2.835 to 2.895. none of them shot bad, none of them shot good.
When jamming the lands should you feel the added pressure on the lands, WHEN CLOSING THE BOLT? I do not. Further more I had a hell of a time finding were the lands touch on the bergers. the ogive starts like 1/8 inch from the brass. I do not have any experience jamming the lands, as I am self taught and no-one I know jamms the lands.
Old 06-19-2011, 12:16 AM
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by airstream View Post
seated bullets from 2.835 to 2.895. none of them shot bad, none of them shot good.
When jamming the lands should you feel the added pressure on the lands, WHEN CLOSING THE BOLT? I do not. Further more I had a hell of a time finding were the lands touch on the bergers. the ogive starts like 1/8 inch from the brass. I do not have any experience jamming the lands, as I am self taught and no-one I know jamms the lands.
Are you shooting threw a factory barrel? if so, even at 2.895 you might not yet be on the lands. I had a Remington 700 in 308 and it had the longest throat I've ever seen.

Depending on how deeply you jam into the lands, you might not feel it. In order to measure at exactly what length a given bullet's ogive touches the lands of your barrel you need two things...

Hornady Lock-N-Load Overall Length Gage Bolt Action - MidwayUSA

and the modified case...

Hornady Lock-N-Load Overall Length Gage Modified Case 260 Remington - MidwayUSA

In terms of bullets, look at the 140g Accubond.