Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Elk Hunting

Elk Hunting Techniques For Elk Hunting

montana elk hunting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2012, 08:01 PM

montana elk hunting

I am a newb to the website but so far I like it. I live in norman oklahoma and I do a little deer hunting. The second week of november I am going to be going on a guided elk hunting trip with my father in law. The hunting will be around missoula.nI just purchased one of the new weatherby vanguard series 2 chambered in .300 win mag. The father in law is bringing a 30-06. I have never been elk hunting does anybody in here have any tips for this kind of hunt? Thanks
Old 05-01-2012, 10:05 PM
Silver Member

Re: montana elk hunting

Shoot that 300win as much as you can, and be in the best shape you can be in.
Old 05-01-2012, 10:33 PM
Platinum Member

Trust your guide, ask him plenty of questions beforehand then do exactly as he advises you. He know the area, the elk and how to get one. Listen to him and don't believe what you see on TV.

You are in for a great adventure. I wish you the best and have a great hunt.

Jeff
Old 05-01-2012, 10:42 PM
Platinum Member

Exercise frequently, especially going up and down stairs. The elevation is what will really get you, and there is no substitute for being in good condition. If I'm drawn on May 9 for New Mexico I'll be adding stairs to my regimen later this summer.