Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Elk Hunting

Elk Hunting Techniques For Elk Hunting

Elk talk

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2009, 03:00 AM
Silver Member

Elk talk

Hey guys. I am new to elk hunting and have a question about elk bugling. I drew an elk tag in an area that doesn't have a lot of elk. Obviously with less elk there won't be as much bugling as if there were a lot. My question is this. Since there are less elk, will that reduce the amount of bugling the ones that are there will do or will they still be pretty vocal? Thanks in advance.
Old 09-05-2009, 08:03 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Elk talk

Interesting question and quite honestly I donít know the answer. Iím around elk most every day or at least around where they live and mainly itís the time of year that really determines how vocal they are. Bulls will bugle all year long not much but they do.

I would think that if there were a few bulls either thinned out by wolfs or lots of hunting pressure they would tend to be pretty quiet even during the rut.

There is something about the outside of a horse that is good for the inside of a man. Sir Winston Churchill.

Everything that is really great and inspiring is created by the individual who can labor in freedom. Einstein
Old 09-05-2009, 09:57 PM
Silver Member