Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Elk Hunting

Elk Hunting Techniques For Elk Hunting

Elk Caliber?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2012, 08:17 PM

Elk Caliber?

Im looking to buy a gun to shoot out to 800? and maybe farther for weekend practice. I dont know if factory guns will fit the bill or a custom rifle would work better but as long as the ammo is readily availble at bass pro or cabelas. not 100% on caliber thinkin 7 mm but im new to the larger calibers and just want some advise for a tack driver
Old 02-21-2012, 08:36 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Elk Caliber?

300WSM
300Win
300Wby
300RUM
338Win
338RUM
340Wby
What do you want to pay for over the counter ammo? 300WSM, &300Win, & 338Win are your most affordable bet.
How long of barrel life do you want? 338Win is longer barrel life of the above.
Is it for LR Elk only, or rarely Elk, & mostly LR Deer size game? Maybe a 300 would suit you better for its unmatched bullet selection for different critters?
Put a brake on any of the above, & recoil is a non issue.

I'm just not a fan of the 7mm in any form. Sorry.

"I have No idea why that cop made me ride in the back seat, when I Clearly called Shotgun!"
Old 02-21-2012, 09:10 PM

My thoughts on it was a shade higher BC and a shade quicker which would slip through the wind a bit eaiser?? but i dont have the experience to know for sure about all the technical specs on long range sniping
Old 02-21-2012, 09:48 PM
Platinum Member

Maybe a 7mm fan will give you some factory #'s you can crunch on JBM Balistics calculator.

I'm not that guy. I roll my own, hot, to whatever my rifles like for accuracy.
I can tell you for sure that to reach the minimum recomended 1500 ft lbs for Elk at 800 with factory ammo, I'm goin with a 300, or a 338.