Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Elk Hunting

Elk Hunting Techniques For Elk Hunting

Colorado over the counter plains hunts

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2011, 10:34 AM
Bronze Member

Colorado over the counter plains hunts

Hello all elk hunters. I am a New Mexico resident, I have already had my bull hunt for this year. Here in New Mexico it can be hard to draw tags at times, I have purchased an over the counter tag in Colorado before due to this. I was looking at the over the counter plains hunting just now, in case I dont draw next year. The season is shown as Sep 1st through Jan 31st. I looked on Google maps and it appears that there is very little public land here, though my map did not indicate BLM or State lands. Is there anything else anyone can tell me about these hunts? Anything would be appreciated.
Old 11-10-2011, 08:01 PM
Bronze Member

Re: Colorado over the counter plains hunts

Quote:
Originally Posted by garciaaron View Post
Hello all elk hunters. I am a New Mexico resident, I have already had my bull hunt for this year. Here in New Mexico it can be hard to draw tags at times, I have purchased an over the counter tag in Colorado before due to this. I was looking at the over the counter plains hunting just now, in case I dont draw next year. The season is shown as Sep 1st through Jan 31st. I looked on Google maps and it appears that there is very little public land here, though my map did not indicate BLM or State lands. Is there anything else anyone can tell me about these hunts? Anything would be appreciated.