Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Antelope Hunting

best bullet for antelope

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-25-2008, 05:02 PM
Bronze Member

Re: best bullet for antelope

Mark308: I would suggest the 150 gr. 30 caliber Nosler Ballistic Tips for your two Rifles.
In the past 39 years I have shot Antelope every year sometimes in two states per year and often have killed multiple Antelope per year!
Antelope (like someone mentioned) are not difficult to kill.
If the bullet is placed through the heart/lungs area!
You will waste virtually NO EDIBLE MEAT with a broadside heart/lung shot!
Avoid hitting the shoulder blades at all costs or you will have significant meat loss no matter what bullet you use!
I have been using Nosler Ballistic Tips on Antelope for many years now in several calibers!
They fly fast and flat and accurately! And they expand quick enough and reliably enough for certain and quick kills on Antelope!
I will be in the next region east of you and your brother and I will be using my Remington 700 Sendero in caliber 270 Winchester with Nosler Ballistic Tips this year!
Best of luck to you and again avoid the shoulder blades - put your bullet into the heart/lung area and go gather up your trophy and eat it all!
Hold into the wind
VarmintGuy
Old 09-26-2008, 08:30 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Varmint Hunter View Post
I would choose an accurate bullet that resists the wind (high B/C) because the winds out west can be unpredictable and strong. I found it harder to dope the wind than anything else. This is why I would not advocate using a 22-250 or similar cartridge even though they have sufficient terminal energy for lopes.