Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Deer Hunting

You're favorite "woods gun"? mine proved true today

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2009, 07:56 PM
Bronze Member

Re: You're favorite "woods gun"? mine proved true today

I have been using a Browning BLR in 7mm-08 for 2 years now. I have some 175gr round nose bullets that should work fine for big,heavy game but I normally use a 139 bullet for day to day hunting. The gun is kind of what I would call an all around gun because of the way it is set up. I know what most people think of see through rings. I am not a big fan of them for a "good" gun but they work for me on this gun. I put some Williams Firesights under the scope for the close in work or walking and a Leupold fixed power FX-III in 6X42 for the stuff out to 300 Yards. The gun has the worst trigger I have ever used but I have a load that will shoot MOA or on a good day .750 inch. Sometimes I can get 2 or 3 to touch! This rig should be good for anything in north America in my opinion from point blank to 300 yards given the size of the animal. A little farther if I had a good rest and learned to shoot it better at longer ranges. Here in central Texas I don't how to beat it for an all around gun.......Jim
Old 12-01-2009, 06:48 PM
Silver Member

My favorite deer guns here in MS are:

Uberti 1885 single shot rifle in 45-70, an absolute tack-driver w/Winchester 300gr

T/C contender handgun in 309 JDJ and 375 JDJ
Old 12-05-2009, 04:34 PM
Silver Member

Im a big fan of AR15's for hunting rifles. I used my 6.8 SPC last year to take this really nice Michigan 9 point, at the extremely long range of 42 yards. I have since moved to Wyoming where you can count the number of trees within 50 miles of my house on both hands and still have fingers left over.

I would like a big bore AR-15 someday but dont really need one.
Old 12-05-2009, 06:03 PM
Platinum Member