Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Deer Hunting

Telling on myself... 2 lost deer.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2011, 10:01 PM
Bronze Member

Re: Telling on myself... 2 lost deer.

I use Nosler balistic tip bullets for 95% of my hunting. To date I have had no issues with poor bullet performance as you seem to be having. The animals shot were coyote, deer, caribou and moose. Is the Nosler balistic tip to light for moose;results were the same vaporized heart and lungs. I'm currently working up a recipe for Berger bullets. I have also used Hornady bullets of various weights and calibre's it's just that my rifles accuracy wasn't there. All my rifles seems to perform best when fed a diet of various Nosler and Sierra bullets.
Old 11-26-2011, 10:25 PM
Bronze Member

I have been shooting ballistic tip bullets for a few years, namely the Hornady SST's. Killed 5-6 deer with them. All deer buckled at the shot, a couple dropped and got back up and all went about 20-30 yards from the spot I shot them at. Not ONE blood trail was found by any of these deer. Last year I took a shot at the biggest buck I have ever seen and the same thing happened as the ones above, except this deer was never found!!!!!

I have done two things different this season, I switched to the Barnes TSX and quit shooting behind the shoulder, I've punched right through the front shoulder and the 4 animals that I have killed this year have dropped on the spot and not moved one inch. The biggest this year was a 178lb 9 pt and he kicked on the ground for just over 30 seconds, with the busted front shoulders, he wasnt going anywhere. How far do you think that buck would have ran in 30 seconds???

I hate to lose an animal...loom for buzzards in the next few days

Take your kids hunting and fishing...no experience like it!!!!!

Follow us on Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/BoneHeadHuntClub

http://www.facebook.com/RunningwithDanny