Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Regional Forums > West

West MT, CO, WY, NM, NV, UT, CA, ID, WA, OR, AZ, HI, AK

Hornady SST Explodes on Javelina?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2011, 01:22 AM

Re: Hornady SST Explodes on Javelina?

I am going to eat it for sure. Yes, I've heard that many people don't. I'm a pretty good cook though and I will make it work.

I stripped ALL the silver skin, fat and tendons off the meat on the day I shot it. After thawing it out I will do a 4-day sea salt water brine, switching the brine every day.

Then I'll marinade it.

Some of the first dishes will be a javelina korma (Indian food) and some pulled-javelina green chile.
Old 02-27-2011, 05:32 AM
Silver Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivanjunge View Post
211 yards
I have used the SST from a 300 WSM at 3025 fps muzzle velocity and it seems to come apart at the ranges of 150 yards or less . I had no exit wounds on the hogs and deer I shot with it at these close ranges. If the ranges extended beyond 150 they held together better and would exit. The SST is not a bonded bullet and will disintegrate with the higher velocities.
Old 03-10-2011, 11:42 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivanjunge View Post
pulled-javelina green chile.
Recipe for 2 lbs. of Javelina:

Game taste removal:
In the refrigerator soak the meat in a salt water brine for 1 day. Drain. Soak the meat in a sugar water brine for 1 day. Drain. Soak the meat in a salt water brine for another day. Drain. At this point the water no longer turns red, just light pink.

Marinade javelina for a day in:
Soy sauce, sugar, molasses, vinegar, a little water, chopped garlic, 5 drops of liquid smoke, cumin powder.