Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Regional Forums > West

West MT, CO, WY, NM, NV, UT, CA, ID, WA, OR, AZ, HI, AK

Eastern Washington long range elk?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2009, 02:22 PM

Eastern Washington long range elk?

Hi everybody! I'm new to long-range hunting and this forum as well. I'm in the process of acquiring a long range hunting rifle (a custom .300WM), and am excited for next hunting season as I doubt I will have the time to get set up for this season. I was thinking of going after the Hanford elk herd (well, one of the members of it) next fall. I know this is a fairly open area and there is supposed to be a few elk there. Does anybody have some wisdom they would be willing to share regarding this region?

I'm not new to hunting (I went bow hunting with my dad as a kid), but am new to rifle hunting. I appreciate your help getting started!

Happy Hunting.
Old 10-27-2009, 12:30 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Eastern Washington long range elk?

Welcome aboard!

300 WM ought to be just the ticket for the area you are considering.

Having said that, I know nothing about the area except that I think its wide open high desert?

remington25-06 here, should know something about that area.
Old 11-15-2009, 01:30 AM
Bronze Member