Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Chatting and General Stuff > Member Introductions

Member Introductions Tell us about yourself. Include your Location in the thread title.

New From Alaska

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2008, 09:52 PM

New From Alaska

I moved to Alaska 32 years ago from southern Minnesota. I was raised on a 140 acre farm with 30 dairy cows, 30-40 hogs, a bunch of chickens, a few dogs, and 2 sisters and 4 brothers, of which I am the oldest. Our farm had 20 acres of high ground to hunt jack rabbits, lots of corn fields to hunt pheasants, and twenty acres of woods to hunt white tail deer and trap a racoon every now and then. We also had a large marshy lake nearby to hunt ducks and trap muskrats. I could walk to whatever kind of hunting I desired, and loved it.
I planned to farm when I grew up, but the farm was sold shortly after I graduated. During the summer after 5th grade, I fell out of the back of the pickup while our family was on the way to the swimming hole, and landed on my head. That must've been when I decided to move to Alaska and become a bush pilot and hunting guide - I did hit pretty hard! Or maybe the Sears pup tent and sleeping bag that I got for my 8th birthday is what influenced me to move up here.
At any rate, I now live in Alaska and own and operate a big game guide service that specializes in Dall Sheep and Brown/Grizzly bear hunts - Alaska Remote Guide Service. We also market 2 Moose calling and hunting instructional DVDS - "Love, Thunder & Bull in Alaska", volumes 1 & 2 - and a fiber glass moose call - The "BULL MAGNET" (trade marked name).