Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Chatting and General Stuff > Member Introductions

Member Introductions Tell us about yourself. Include your Location in the thread title.

The thread is closed

Introductions, lots of new folks here nowadays

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2005, 07:45 AM
Platinum Member

Introductions, lots of new folks here nowadays

I thought it might be time for another go-around of introductions. We have a lot of new members and I'm getting curious.

I'll start:

Dave King
retired U. S. Navy but still working.
I'm 51 y/o but that'll change next year, I'm grey haired and somewhat grumpy. I like food and don't care too much for hard manual labor work. I'm a computer geek by trade and have a few quirks (occupational requirement).

I like to shoot long range, both target and hunting. My hunting limit is 650 yards on big game animals but varmints are not so lucky.

I've been married right at 31 years (yes, all to the same woman) and have two grown children. My son is in the U. S. Army and my daughter works for the federal government (civil service).

I mainly shoot 308 Winchester in "tactical" style rifles, I like the durability of the rifles built for hard use. I have a few other "odd" rifles around, a 375 H&H "The Monkey Blaster" (named by Ian McMurchy) and my latest (mis)adventure is a 416 Rigby perhaps to be labeled "The Retina Detacher".

I mainly hunt whitetail deer and have been known to hunt black bear, moose ("eater of twigs") and elk (wapati).

I do some reloading but mainly shoot Federal Gold Medal Match ammo through my 308's. I do reload for the 416 Rigby, at $120 USD per factory 20 it's a lot less expensive to reload for it.
Old 04-03-2005, 08:08 AM
Bronze Member

Re: Introductions, lots of new folks here nowadays