Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Chatting and General Stuff > Member Introductions

Member Introductions Tell us about yourself. Include your Location in the thread title.

Hello from Carlisle, PA.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2009, 07:23 PM
Silver Member

Hello from Carlisle, PA.

I'm a retired engineer. Moved here from So. Cal. in 2004. Picked up my interesting in hunting and varmint shooting after a 35 year interruption to earn a living. Shot my first ground hog 3 years ago with a .17HMR and got hooked. Now I have 5 varmint rifles (.17HMR, CZ527 .22 Hornet, CZ527 American .223, ,22-250 that I set back and rechambered last winter, and a Savage Model 10 that I rebarreled last summer), am equipping an ATV for hunting GH on some farms where I have permission to hunt.

I already had a lathe suitable for chambering rifle barrels thorugh the headstock so I taught myself to machine barrel blanks to fit and chamber them as last winter's project. That was a fun winter. Hunting with them this summer has been a whole bunch of fun.

I have to say I'm in awe of some of the long range hunting exploits documented in this forum. I can only dream of shots like that.

My goal is to drop a ground hog DRT from a cold zero as far as 300 yards this year, 400 yards in 2010, and 500 in 2011. So far, because of where I've been hunting, the longest shot was 169 yards standing off a bipod with my .223 CZ527. With the ATV I'll be able to transport a better shooting rest to locations where I can take a stand and shoot out to 450 to 500 yards over at least freshly cut alfalfa fields, and soy bean fields.

I'm definitely looking forward to my time participating in this forum.

Fitch
Old 08-09-2009, 08:53 PM
Silver Member

Re: Hello from Carlisle, PA.

Welcome from Elizabethtown, PA! It sounds like you will have a lot to share. Thanks for introducing yourself.

Gene
Old 08-09-2009, 09:22 PM
Official LRH Sponsor