Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > How To Hunt Big Game

Ethical long range shots?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2008, 10:38 PM
Silver Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by dicktaylor View Post
Seems like there is a considerably better chance of making a good shot on an animal bedded down and much more risk if the animal is on its feet and can move as the trigger breaks. Is a shot ethical on a standing animal which is moving frequently? What about an animal on the edge of thick growth, where a followup shot would not be possible and the animal might not show immediate signs of being hit. Would that increase the risk? It seems to me the answer would be to pass up such opportunities but I am not experienced at long range shooting and would like to hear from those who are.
I think a lot is being missed here. It's not so much a matter of how good a shot you are thats up to you to know. It's more about knowing what you are doing and experience. If I am by myself I will take a longer shot on a bedded animal than a standing animal. For the reasonds you stated. I shoot a lot of deer and know their habits and take longer shot on feeding deer. When it comes time to go long on a standing deer all I am doing is shooting a target, It's the spotters call when to send it. he or she has to read the animal and let you know. Your concentration should be on shooting. Try doing it all by yourself and there's a better chance of problems.
Old 07-26-2008, 01:20 PM
Silver Member

Would it be a safe assumption that most here do not shoot longer (or much longer) on game than they have practiced on paper? I don't want to go down the "ethics" road, I am just curious where folks stand for themselves.