Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > How To Hunt Big Game

Ethical long range shots?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2008, 09:58 AM

Ethical long range shots?

Seems like there is a considerably better chance of making a good shot on an animal bedded down and much more risk if the animal is on its feet and can move as the trigger breaks. Is a shot ethical on a standing animal which is moving frequently? What about an animal on the edge of thick growth, where a followup shot would not be possible and the animal might not show immediate signs of being hit. Would that increase the risk? It seems to me the answer would be to pass up such opportunities but I am not experienced at long range shooting and would like to hear from those who are.
Old 07-25-2008, 10:13 AM
Platinum Member

Ethics are like religous and politcal beliefs. Everyone has ideas, and they're all different. Do you have the skills to make the shot and the judgement to know if / when there is a shot? Of course, experience is something you gain right after you need it.

My point is, whatever ethics you have they aren't universal.
Old 07-25-2008, 11:03 AM
Silver Member

grit,

Couldn't have said it better myself!
Old 07-25-2008, 12:38 PM
Platinum Member

This is from the rules of this board.
Quote:
This board was created for the expressed purpose of discussing the methods, equipment and techniques of Long Range Hunting without the burden of discussing or debating ethics. Although we all individually have ethics and limitations on what we consider correct WE DO NOT discuss nor will we tolerate discussions of ethics on this site. We are here to learn and share methods, techniques and equipment ideas.
So, as far as the ethical part of your questions goes........no response.