Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Backpack Hunting

How much water do you take with you?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2008, 07:43 AM
Silver Member

How much water do you take with you?

I'm new to backpack hunting and I'm trying to figure out how much water people pack in when they go hunting.

If I ever do get a chance to go somewhere It'll probably be for 5 days to a week and I'm going to assume that there will be no water whereever I'm going to use a filtration system.

Any real amount of water gets heavy quick and that's the last thing I want to run out of, so how much do you guys carry in?
Old 06-10-2008, 09:38 AM
Gold Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by teddy12b View Post
I'm new to backpack hunting and I'm trying to figure out how much water people pack in when they go hunting.

If I ever do get a chance to go somewhere It'll probably be for 5 days to a week and I'm going to assume that there will be no water whereever I'm going to use a filtration system.

Any real amount of water gets heavy quick and that's the last thing I want to run out of, so how much do you guys carry in?
Hi Teddy12b,

Usually - NONE - All I need is an empty plastic bottle, and when i got across of small creek I refill the bottle with fresh water. (I used a GPS to track all the water sources on the mountain).
The only time when I got with me some water is in plain areas, 750mL/day.
In time I learned a lesson, if I drink more water my body is getting tired, so I tried to keep it at minimal to dont get deshidratated.
Old 06-10-2008, 03:52 PM
Platinum Member