Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Backpack Hunting

Alcohol stove???

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-27-2009, 04:54 PM
Platinum Member

Alcohol stove???

Anyone uses alcohol stoves?
They seem to be very light weighted, and could be a good item for backpacking. I was just wondering if anyone uses them, there are a lot of video on youtube on how to make them and how to use them. Pretty interesting. Just wanted to know any personal experiences with them. Thanks.
Old 12-27-2009, 09:46 PM
Bronze Member

Re: Alcohol stove???

I've been using them for a couple of years now.
Tried several different models (all diy) and settled on the SuperCat.
Regular denatured alcohol from the hardware store seems to be the best all around fuel.
Light weight and dependable.

Be sure to practice at home first as they're different in use than other stoves.
Most importantly remember, alcohol flames don't show in sun light.
Your first experiments should be at dusk, enough light to see what you're doing,
dark enough to see the flames.

dk
Old 12-28-2009, 09:40 AM
Bronze Member

check out www.end2endtrailsupply.com they sell them for around $10.00 each and they work great,its not even worth making themyorself at that price
Old 12-28-2009, 02:17 PM
Bronze Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by HUAINAMACHERO View Post
Anyone uses alcohol stoves?
They seem to be very light weighted, and could be a good item for backpacking. I was just wondering if anyone uses them, there are a lot of video on youtube on how to make them and how to use them. Pretty interesting. Just wanted to know any personal experiences with them. Thanks.

Depends on where you are going to be backpacking. Many places are going to white gas only, like Denali.
Old 12-28-2009, 09:33 PM
Gold Member