Advice on backpack hunt gear list

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2011, 10:39 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Advice on backpack hunt gear list

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaseyAlbert View Post
Hi:

Just read your list and the many replies. I plan to review your list in more detail, but wanted to pass along......I'd be happy to send you Tyvek to replace your floor choice.

I am by no means an expert, but have been working on lighter and lighter high quality gear as the years pass. I do Idaho archery and finally made the move from short overnights to hunting with camp on back. The biggest problem is finding someone that wants to do the same.

For this year I am thinking(purchased, but have to test first) of using a tarp and hammock set-up.

I bought a tarp(12 oz) and a hammock(7 oz). Now I have heard that the bottom gets cold, so I might have to carry a pad(closed cell about 14 oz, or self inflating rei 1.5(about 24 oz(I think). I'm also considering using an ultralight sleeping bag to attach under the hammock.

Hennessey Hammock makes systems and I plan to look into those also.

Personally, I think you are carrying too much weight, especially if you are hunting with camp on back.

I have a Marmot Helium EQ(waterproof) in 15 degree, which is too warm in September, but is waterproof on it's own.

Good Luck!

Casey Albert
For a lightweight, comfortable 3-season mattress, check out:

Therm-a-Rest NeoAir - the lightest, most technologically advanced air mattress.

For a bit colder camping, I use this one:

Therm-a-Rest® ProLite Plus self-inflating air mattress. You can see by the R-value that this one insulates better. If you are camped on snow, a second mattress of closed cell foam under you main mattress will do wonders.

Might check out Tarptent Ultralight Shelters as well...