Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Magazine Articles > Technical Articles - Discussion

A Store Bought Long Range Rig

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2011, 10:20 PM
Silver Member

Re: A Store Bought Long Range Rig

Thanks for the reply john, ill check out the konus scope tonight, kinda leading toward vortex .6x24 ffp ,have u had a look at them, they seem to be a excellent scope for the money.looking forward to a review from u of that scope and more take care.timmy
Old 01-27-2011, 07:29 AM
Silver Member

The Vortex should be a good scope but I have no experience with it yet. Another one to look at is the Hawke. I just got one and it looks well made. I am waiting on a Savage LR hunter to put it on. That article will be out in the next few months. Mueller also makes a great scope in that price range.
Old 01-28-2011, 05:22 PM
Silver Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by olsingleshot View Post
The Vortex should be a good scope but I have no experience with it yet. Another one to look at is the Hawke. I just got one and it looks well made. I am waiting on a Savage LR hunter to put it on. That article will be out in the next few months. Mueller also makes a great scope in that price range.
When it comes to buying rifle scopes with a 3 digit price tag, the vortex viper PST is as good as it gets. the retical and turrest match, it comes with a zero stop, and a functional retical that is second to none. It has enough elivation to get anything based on a .308 case to the 1000 yard line on a flat base. The catch is it cost a bit more coin that the Millet LRS.

http://web.me.com/rdsii64/shooter64
Old 02-01-2011, 12:33 AM
Silver Member

I am confused. I thought (and believe ) a scope should be mounted as low as possible . Zeroing and shooting is much easier. This scope looks to be mounted entirely too high.
Old 02-01-2011, 07:49 AM
Silver Member