Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Magazine Articles > Technical Articles - Discussion

Setting Up Your Scope by Jerry Teo

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2012, 11:31 AM
Writers Guild

Re: Setting Up Your Scope by Jerry Teo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Move silent strike hard View Post
I am new to making scope adjustments and I do not understand the resaon for converting the drop from inches to MOA. Why cant you simply adjust the number of clicks that equals the number of inches of drop?

Are there any books that would help me to understand this?

Thank you,

Tracy
You are doing the same math regardless of how you think of it.

The scope adj's are usually in MOA so at some point you will have to figure out the number of clicks that you need to reach out. You will have to convert the number of inches to moa/mins so that you can figure how many clicks on your scope to adj.

Reticles can be read in MOA so there is a way to use that to account for adjustments ie you know that the distance between hash marks is 2 MOA and the bullet hits 3 hash marks off target. Dial in 6 mins and center on the target.

When dealing in inches, the values get really big and then you have to do the mental gymnastics to go back to MOA pending the distance you are shooting to.

Then you can adjust your scope.

Easier just to stay in MOA or Minutes for everything.

have a look at a ballistics program - JBM on the internet is readily available and you can see how these charts are laid out. I think you will find that working in MOA/Minutes simplifies things alot.

When you start shooting, this will all make alot more sense.

Jerry
Old 05-07-2012, 10:04 AM

I am new to this forums........
Old 05-25-2012, 11:06 AM

Hello Jerry,