Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Magazine Articles > Technical Articles - Discussion

Precision Reloading For Long Range Hunting by Jerry Teo

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-29-2011, 08:53 PM

Re: Precision Reloading For Long Range Hunting by Jerry Teo

I am new to reloading and i wondering if you could tell me what is the best bullets,powder and primers for shooting long range with 300winmag ,308and 223?
Old 12-30-2011, 10:22 AM
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by PURVIS6 View Post
I am new to reloading and i wondering if you could tell me what is the best bullets,powder and primers for shooting long range with 300winmag ,308and 223?
The very first thing you need (other than equipment) is a recipe book. Hornady, Speer, Lee and (I believe everyone that manufactures dies has one).

Do some reading and determine what you need.

Myself (personal preference), I tend to use Joyce Hornady projectiles, especially in .223 cases and I buy once fired .223 cases in bulk.

Always (if possible) buy your expendables in bulk. The 50 packs and 100 packs of bullets and the 100 bags of brass and pints of powder at your local sporting goods emporium are great for starting out, but aren't cost saving.

Reloading is about custom ballistics but it's also about cost savings over factory loaded rounds......... (hint..I reload because I'm cheap...)

I want to buy my projectiles (especially .223) in thousands, powder in bulk (at least 8 pound jugs, preferably 45 pound kegs) and brass in bulk. The Internet is rife with suppliers that sell in bulk. Just do some looking.

Then there is equipment.......

And, of course, opinions........
Old 01-05-2012, 12:16 PM
Writers Guild

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoverp View Post
Hi there , just wondering what Die and seater set you would recommend for my Savage 110 FCP in 338 Lapua Mag.