Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Magazine Articles > Technical Articles - Discussion

Precision Hand Loading For Long Range-Chapter One: Brass Sort & Prep By Tres MonCeret

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2010, 11:56 PM
Bronze Member

Re: Precision Hand Loading For Long Range-Chapter One: Brass Sort & Prep By Tres MonC

Hey thanks for the kind words!

Happy to help,
Tres

Check my website for articles, training info, etc!

NOTE: I'm a machinist, gunsmith, writer, and instructor of many outdoor topics looking for gainful employment in any geographical cool place to live. Resumes Available.

John 14:6 2TIMothy 3:16
Old 04-27-2010, 12:01 AM
Bronze Member

Re: Precision Hand Loading For Long Range-Chapter One: Brass Sort & Prep By Tres MonC

Actually- with a factory chamber and most all chambers your brass will be worn out before it gets close to your chambers actual max length dimension. But I'd stay good .020" short...

Tres

Check my website for articles, training info, etc!

NOTE: I'm a machinist, gunsmith, writer, and instructor of many outdoor topics looking for gainful employment in any geographical cool place to live. Resumes Available.

John 14:6 2TIMothy 3:16
Old 04-27-2010, 08:02 AM
Silver Member

Thanks for a well written article. I'm looking forward to reading the rest.
Old 04-27-2010, 11:49 PM
Platinum Member

I just sorted 102 pcs new Norma 300 wsm brass. 92 pieces were within 2 grains of eachother; I'd say that's pretty good QC! I'll use the extreme high and low brass as foulers, and then arranged the rest into two boxes by weight. Essentially, I've got 2 boxes of 45 within 1 grain + 5 foulers in each box. This is half the tolerance listed in the article.

Thanks for the advice on sorting the brass. Now, on to sorting bullets by bearing surface length. I've got 1000 scenars to sort through, this should be interesting...
Old 04-28-2010, 12:02 AM
Platinum Member