Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Chatting and General Stuff > Polls

Polls These will all be Admin initiated polls.

View Poll Results: Do you use MOA or MIL
MIL 264 26.22%
MOA 743 73.78%
Voters: 1007. You may not vote on this poll

What system, MOA or Mil, do you use?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-22-2013, 08:45 AM
Platinum Member

Re: What system, MOA or Mil, do you use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by skipdavidson View Post
I'm MOA all the way!

Ok, a question for the Mil users. Explain (as if I'm new to long range precision shooting) why you would select the Mil system over MOA? (other than the reasons: I always have, my scope is a Mil scope, the military does it).
I'm one of those weirdos that moved from MOA to MIL for my big game hunting needs!

Taking that math out of it, and they both are pretty easy, it is just getting used to it, I still personally like MIL for a few reasons. And keep in mind this list is simply what I like and I do still use both MOA and MIL.

I like the slightly courser adjustments. For my type of shooting, big game to a half mile or so, and practicing out to 1000-1200 yards, I don't feel I lose enough precision to worry about with a .36 adjustment over .26. But the courser adjustments do add these benefits.

1. Fewer clicks and/or rotations of the turret to get on target. This aids in speed and helps eliminate error to some degree IMO.
2. Smaller numbers to remember when dialing, ie 5 mil vs 16.6 MOA. Again, quicker and easier to remember which should lead to fewer mistakes