Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Chatting and General Stuff > Polls

Polls These will all be Admin initiated polls.


View Poll Results: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?
Yes, of course! 927 45.18%
No, I don't shoot over 300 yards. 238 11.60%
No, but I really should use one. 887 43.23%
Voters: 2052. You may not vote on this poll

Reply

Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #29  
Old 11-17-2010, 07:19 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 507
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

Quote:
Originally Posted by my191145 View Post
Actually it needs 5 options. 5th one being a level is a gimic unless you shoot 1000yd benchrest; and even then it is kind of stupid and not at all needed if you simply focus on your reticle.
I shoot 1000 yard Benchrest I do well enough and I don't use a scope level.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 12-18-2010, 12:20 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: terlton, oklahoma
Posts: 379
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eaglet View Post
A hunting load in a 30-06 zeroed at 100 yards, when canted 12 may shoot 2 feet to the right at 600 yards and about 9 feet at 1000 yards.Canting is a reality that many choose to ignore, which is perfectly alright!

This is the one I would buy. It's not a rip off price.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 02-20-2011, 12:46 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: saskatchewan canada
Posts: 172
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

I don:t have it yet but one is on order. I:am hitting some coyotes at 450 to 550yds with a 25-06. Close is not good enough, no canter I mite hit more.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 02-20-2011, 08:51 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: terlton, oklahoma
Posts: 379
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

no one has posted where you can buy this level.
So where do you find them?
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 02-21-2011, 08:58 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: saskatchewan canada
Posts: 172
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

Quote:
Originally Posted by OKIE2 View Post
no one has posted where you can buy this level.
So where do you find them?
Hello OKIE2 I went to a Saskatoon sporting goods store with stores in Calgary, Edmonton and Regina no one had one in stock but they had a listing for a B square level I think it is a Bushell product for 24.95 so I ordered it. LRH have them in their gear shop but can:t ship to Canada.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 02-22-2011, 11:22 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 6
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

I shoot Long Range BR and F-Class and have never used one. I have managed to do very good. I don't see it as a necessity.
I don't see them very often in competition either.


Just my $.02 but thought I should put it out there since it wasn't a choice on the poll.

Matt
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 02-26-2011, 04:33 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Alpine, Calif.
Posts: 144
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

<a href="http://s1196.photobucket.com/albums/aa414/gonzok34/300%20Mag/?action=view&amp;current=300winmag2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i1196.photobucket.com/albums/aa414/gonzok34/300%20Mag/300winmag2.jpg" border="0" alt="gonzok34"></a>

I use both an angle cosine and a level. I shoot in LR military (open sights), LR Metal Shilouette to 600 yard, and metal targets out to 1200 meters, as well as hunt elk and deer with shots out to 800yds successfully.

For the most part the level helps in competition and while practicing. When your shooting in mountainous terrain with steep angles, across ridges, and into shadows. With variable winds coming from different angles. Any slight cant when shooting beyond 600 yds will effect your point of impact considerably.

In Vietnam we did not have the benefit of levels or angle cosine indicators. It took tremendous effort and extensive practice to become proficient. But, in the process we did miss some critical 1st round shots.

Hunting isn't combat. But with the economy and the cost of fuel, we all want to get the most from our dollars spent. Precision shooting is not cheap. Rifles, action tuning, barrel truing, scope bases, rings and NF scopes are a serious investment. Loading several hundred rounds to develop loads and ballistic data is time and money consuming. When you include the cost of out of state big game hunts. You want to make each and every shot count.

Buy the best gear and practice, practice, practice.

Angle Indicators, Levels, Scopes and Custom Built Rifles aren't going to make you a better rifleman. Shooting constructively will.

Gonzo
SEMPER FIDELIS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gun, scope, bubble level .. dont look level?? bigsal5353 Long Range Hunting & Shooting 7 11-08-2012 08:58 PM
Flatline Ops. Inc. ACCU/LEVEL Scope Level Review ADMIN Product Reviews - Discussion 32 08-27-2011 04:27 PM
scope/rifle level TxAggie94 The Basics, Starting Out 3 09-08-2008 06:06 PM
Wheeler Level-level-level $18 shipped SPF sambo3006 Other Stuff For Sale 1 01-27-2008 05:12 PM
Wheeler Level-level-level $18 shipped SPF sambo3006 Optics For Sale 1 01-27-2008 05:11 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC