close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Chatting and General Stuff > Polls

Polls These will all be Admin initiated polls.

View Poll Results: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?
Yes, of course! 1,079 46.53%
No, I don't shoot over 300 yards. 254 10.95%
No, but I really should use one. 986 42.52%
Voters: 2319. You may not vote on this poll

Reply

Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #15  
Unread 06-19-2010, 11:31 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,546
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

Eaglet, can the level be folded down or does it have to stay up?
Reply With Quote
  •   #16  
    Unread 06-20-2010, 08:57 AM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2005
    Location: Nevada
    Posts: 2,782
    Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Chas1 View Post
    Eaglet, can the level be folded down or does it have to stay up?
    It folds out of the way!
    __________________
    -----------------------------

    -----------------------------
    HEBREWS 13:8
    Jesus Christ the same yesterday, and to day, and for ever.

    Our Lord Jesus said that as it was in the days of Noah and
    also as it was in the days of Lot so it shall be in the days...
    It's happening again!!! God sent to us His prophet, and His Word
    to this generation and we once more are rejecting it as was prophesied!!!

    ---> As promised, God Sent His Prophet to us!
    Reply With Quote

      #17  
    Unread 06-20-2010, 12:12 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2009
    Posts: 3,546
    Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

    I like it especially since it folds away but, it also looks like you could check level w/o changing ckeek position. Thanks for responding.
    Reply With Quote
      #18  
    Unread 06-20-2010, 06:25 PM
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Mar 2009
    Posts: 6
    Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Chas1 View Post
    my191145, sounds like you do alot of 1000 yard benchrest competiton. What ones have you been competing in and how'd you do?
    No I have never shot benchrest. I shoot service rifle and long range steel targets with a bolt gun.

    I am just a guy who practices sound marksmanship and can take my custom .260remington and hit anything I want out to about 1100yds, with or without wind.

    Unknown Distace shooting is what I mostly do...in about 3-4 minutes I can quite easily rangefind 6 different (MOA) targets at various distances between say... 320 to 900yds using my (Leupold Mk4 M2), figure the dope for my calculated distance by using my written data book, read the wind and hold for each shot and achieve a first round hit. There is absolutely without a doubt no need for those dumb gizmo levels. I purposfully have canted my rifle at 900yds and still made the same hit I did a few seconds earlier when the rifle was not canted. Explain that?

    -Troy

    Last edited by my191145; 06-20-2010 at 06:53 PM. Reason: clarity
    Reply With Quote
      #19  
    Unread 06-20-2010, 06:58 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2009
    Posts: 3,546
    Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

    [QUOTE=my191145;400967]No I have never shot benchrest.[/QUOTE]

    I'm sorry I thought you had BR experience and had first hand knowledge/experience as a top competitor in BR and what it takes when you said the following:

    a level is a gimic unless you shoot 1000yd benchrest; and even then it is kind of stupid and not at all needed if you simply focus on your reticle.

    Again sorry for the misunderstanding I thought you statement was based on facts but, I stand corrected and now understand it's just your opinion. Thanks for sharing.
    Reply With Quote
      #20  
    Unread 06-20-2010, 08:07 PM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2009
    Location: Frankfort, Kentucky
    Posts: 330
    Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

    Got 3 for $11 each off of ebay. One in 11mm for the airgun for future field target, and 2 in weaver/picatinny for an AR and bolt. Wanna practice right.
    Reply With Quote
      #21  
    Unread 06-20-2010, 10:36 PM
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Mar 2009
    Posts: 6
    Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

    [QUOTE=Chas1;400978]
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by my191145 View Post
    No I have never shot benchrest.[/QUOTE]

    Again sorry for the misunderstanding I thought you statement was based on facts but, I stand corrected and now understand it's just your opinion. Thanks for sharing.
    Well it is a fact that when I noticed I was canting my rifle it did not result in miss at long range, not opinion but indeed fact. It is a fact that the levels have only recently shown up in catalogs and being advertised to new shooters, and only recently being used in competition. How have men shot very well for decades and decades, without them?
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes


    Similar Threads for: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?
    Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
    Flatline Ops. Inc. ACCU/LEVEL Scope Level Review ADMIN Product Reviews - Discussion 33 04-12-2015 03:10 AM
    gun, scope, bubble level .. dont look level?? bigsal5353 Long Range Hunting & Shooting 7 11-08-2012 08:58 PM
    scope/rifle level TxAggie94 The Basics, Starting Out 3 09-08-2008 06:06 PM
    Wheeler Level-level-level $18 shipped SPF sambo3006 Other Stuff For Sale 1 01-27-2008 05:12 PM
    Wheeler Level-level-level $18 shipped SPF sambo3006 Optics For Sale 1 01-27-2008 05:11 PM


    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 PM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC