close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Chatting and General Stuff > Polls

Polls These will all be Admin initiated polls.

View Poll Results: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?
Yes, of course! 1,092 46.69%
No, I don't shoot over 300 yards. 255 10.90%
No, but I really should use one. 992 42.41%
Voters: 2339. You may not vote on this poll

Reply

Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #148  
Unread 09-02-2013, 02:15 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Inverness Fl
Posts: 16
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

no but put one on my crossbow and I liked it so well I ordered 2 more, I did buy one LRH for my AR but didn't have a chance yet to try it.
Reply With Quote
  •   #149  
    Unread 09-03-2013, 04:46 AM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2011
    Location: Prineville Oregon
    Posts: 417
    Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Broken Bow View Post
    no but put one on my crossbow and I liked it so well I ordered 2 more, I did buy one LRH for my AR but didn't have a chance yet to try it.
    I can understand that. As i have said before, the level is just an aid to help
    the shooter to shoot more accurately. It is not a cure all and correct sight
    settings and form are a must, no matter what propels the missal down
    range.

    I have used sights that contain a level on my bows for years. Even had a
    level glued to the sight window on my old re-curve bows.
    Reply With Quote

      #150  
    Unread 09-05-2013, 10:39 PM
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Sep 2013
    Posts: 8
    Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

    I check it right before I start the trigger pull.
    Reply With Quote
      #151  
    Unread 09-06-2013, 09:05 AM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2011
    Location: Prineville Oregon
    Posts: 417
    Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

    Kat3eWhit,

    Good, making that check as part of the shot sequence is essential
    to shooting tight groups. Especially if your not using a bench rest.
    Reply With Quote
      #152  
    Unread 10-08-2013, 12:21 AM
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Sep 2013
    Posts: 7
    Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

    I'm sure this is stated in at least one of the previous 22 pages but I don't have time to read it all, I just scanned it over, perhaps others would do the same and find this post helpful. The greater the distance from the centerline of your scope to the centerline of your rifle bore, the greater the error in aiming if canted. The laws of physics do not change. I'm not a professor or scholar of any kind but understand the basic laws of physics. At 600yds I can hit center mass with only a few corrections in a short period of time, as distance increases the factors involved in accurate hits are compounded, that's when being level etc comes into play. The distance number could be different for others, for me 600 is easy and everything past that becomes long range and requires more thought and planning.
    Reply With Quote
      #153  
    Unread 10-08-2013, 03:07 PM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2011
    Location: Prineville Oregon
    Posts: 417
    Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

    Westtexhunt,

    You are right, the greater the distance between the center of the scope and the center of the rifle bore makes the addition of a level a valuable tool.
    Reply With Quote
      #154  
    Unread 11-16-2013, 08:48 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Dec 2011
    Location: S.E. Michigan
    Posts: 4,120
    Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

    Simply, the farther away (from each other) the centerline of the bore and optic is, the more rotational error (cant) comes into play.

    BTW, I have numerous scope levels and the best and almost the lesat expensive is the Viortex.

    I think Len has them in his store attached to this site....
    __________________
    'It's not about me, it's about we'..........
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes


    Similar Threads for: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?
    Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
    Flatline Ops. Inc. ACCU/LEVEL Scope Level Review ADMIN Product Reviews - Discussion 33 04-12-2015 03:10 AM
    gun, scope, bubble level .. dont look level?? bigsal5353 Long Range Hunting & Shooting 7 11-08-2012 08:58 PM
    scope/rifle level TxAggie94 The Basics, Starting Out 3 09-08-2008 06:06 PM
    Wheeler Level-level-level $18 shipped SPF sambo3006 Other Stuff For Sale 1 01-27-2008 05:12 PM
    Wheeler Level-level-level $18 shipped SPF sambo3006 Optics For Sale 1 01-27-2008 05:11 PM


    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 AM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC