Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Chatting and General Stuff > Polls

Polls These will all be Admin initiated polls.


View Poll Results: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?
Yes, of course! 926 45.15%
No, I don't shoot over 300 yards. 238 11.60%
No, but I really should use one. 887 43.25%
Voters: 2051. You may not vote on this poll

Reply

Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #127  
Old 01-26-2013, 11:36 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 3,462
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

I thought I voted and replied. Guess I didn't. Thats what age does...

Always. I have a natural tendency to cant my rifles to the right for some reason, maybe it's my arthritic wrists or something. The level, in this case a Daryl Holland that Len offers here on site, keeps my reticle level because it causes me to conciously level the rifle.

Handguns with scopes are no issue, just long guns....
__________________
'It's not about me, it's about we'..........
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 01-28-2013, 07:52 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Prineville Oregon
Posts: 397
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

Side car flip.

Maybe it just my positioning when I set up. I have a slight cant to the left and
if wasn't for my level, I would not know it.
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 01-28-2013, 08:27 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 3,462
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

Years ago someone pointed it out to me. I was shooting my 22 Ruger stainless rifle at the club in our outdoor 50 yard league. I never realized I was canting to the right until then but up here in Michigan, a long shot (for deer) is maybe 150 yards at the most anyway.

Now out west, canting to the right on a long shot would be an issue. The level 'reminds' me, nothing more.

I bought it from Len for my 308 Savage and have yet to put one on the 338 but I will and most likely my 223 match Target rifle if it don't become a banned gun.

I'll probably get one for my new CVA AccuraV2 as well. Have to scope it yet.
__________________
'It's not about me, it's about we'..........
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old 01-28-2013, 10:07 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Southwick, Massachusetts
Posts: 28
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

I have been reading these posts on sight levels for months... all I have to say is if a sight level helps you put your rifle in a more consistent position when you shoot, you should have one. I don't use one because I practice on the range so much that my muscle memory puts me in the same natural comfortable position on every shot and once you sight in from any position, you will be on target as long as you maintain that position. BTW, have you all seen the AR-15's that have both a scope and iron sights off to the side at an angle? How bout that... built to shoot at an angle! LOL
Reply With Quote
  #131  
Old 01-28-2013, 10:31 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Prineville Oregon
Posts: 397
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SidecarFlip View Post
Years ago someone pointed it out to me. I was shooting my 22 Ruger stainless rifle at the club in our outdoor 50 yard league. I never realized I was canting to the right until then but up here in Michigan, a long shot (for deer) is maybe 150 yards at the most anyway.

Now out west, canting to the right on a long shot would be an issue. The level 'reminds' me, nothing more.

I bought it from Len for my 308 Savage and have yet to put one on the 338 but I will and most likely my 223 match Target rifle if it don't become a banned gun.

I'll probably get one for my new CVA AccuraV2 as well. Have to scope it yet.
They have the .223 reloading shells shut down to where there isn't any. The bullets
are about as scarce. I just have a plain Jane bolt action 5 round target model.
I am really tired of the politicians running and ruining my life.
I agree with you the level is just a check in the execution of the shot.
Reply With Quote
  #132  
Old 01-29-2013, 10:42 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 3,462
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

223's are a non-issue here, I have at least a thousand maybe more cases and as many projectiles (mostly Hornady 55 grain FMJBT but some Vmax) in boxes. It will come back. You have to be patient and forget about the 'I want it now' syndrome.

I load what I need and thats it.
__________________
'It's not about me, it's about we'..........
Reply With Quote
  #133  
Old 01-29-2013, 12:44 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Prineville Oregon
Posts: 397
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

Enough said.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gun, scope, bubble level .. dont look level?? bigsal5353 Long Range Hunting & Shooting 7 11-08-2012 08:58 PM
Flatline Ops. Inc. ACCU/LEVEL Scope Level Review ADMIN Product Reviews - Discussion 32 08-27-2011 04:27 PM
scope/rifle level TxAggie94 The Basics, Starting Out 3 09-08-2008 06:06 PM
Wheeler Level-level-level $18 shipped SPF sambo3006 Other Stuff For Sale 1 01-27-2008 05:12 PM
Wheeler Level-level-level $18 shipped SPF sambo3006 Optics For Sale 1 01-27-2008 05:11 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC